A Treasured Hawaii Experience

Book by phone: +1 (877) 782-5662

Hale Pua

Guest Rating:

Vacation rental house. Sleeps 20, 6 bedrooms, 6 bathrooms. No pets allowed.

Kailua Kona, HI 96740 United States

Hale Pua (“House of Flowers”) now features AC as an option in all of its sleeping areas: five king bedrooms, one bunkroom with four twin beds and game room with queen sofabed. This special home is maybe the only 6 bed/6 full bath oceanfront vacation rental on the Kona Coast. For recent candid photos and input from guests, please visit our FB page, halepuahouseofflowers.
Hale Pua is a coastal oasis with high-end comforts and details throughout. While this privately-owned home works wonderfully for large gatherings, it is just as warm & welcoming for several couples or a smaller family group.

The home boasts full baths for every bedroom, and a sprawling sea-facing great room with easy access to the kitchen and wetbar. Multiple wall-to-wall glass sliding doors on the oceanside allow trade winds to gently flow while enjoying the stunning water and sunset views. You can SEE or HEAR the ocean from nearly every room!

The spacious lanai with waterfall pool and spa extends the full length of the house along the oceanfront. A lush stretch of yard is the only separation between the rolling surf against the lava rock wall and the home’s lanai.

Just a 50 foot walk from the lanai along a wide rock wall is a small sandy beach with gentle entry to abundant tide pools and out to the ocean for snorkeling, surfing or kayaking.

Your ocean view is unobstructed and stunning; no walking path between you and the sea as can be the case in many local beachfront neighborhoods.

After a day of sun & fun, kids (or adults!) can chill out watching their favorite movie or TV show in the media room featuring leather home theater recliners and a 70” Smart Samsung flat screen TV with surround sound. Many Blu-ray movies are provided for your enjoyment.

The executive open-design dream kitchen features granite counter and dining room seating for 16 indoors, 8 outdoors. This chef-worthy kitchen is equipped with 2 refrigerators, 2 dishwashers, 1 wine cooler, Subzero & Dacor appliances along with flatware & dishes to serve over 20 people.

Hale Pua is a special home that has been recently renovated with custom paint, window treatments, wall art and designer Restoration Hardware furniture. Each bedroom bears a fitting title in a brass doorplate, such as “Surf’s Up”, “Kona Coffee”, “Pua Suite” and so on. The Hawaiian bedroom décor showcases updated linens, pillows and tropical touches that will make you smile. All bedrooms have flat screen TVs with cable.

The 2nd floor Master Suite, with panoramic ocean views, provides optimum whale and dolphin watching opportunities. Another guest suite is “Ohana” designed, also ocean view offering upstairs sleeping and separate downstairs living/sleeping with wall-to-wall sliders opening onto the lanai.

The baths are all full-size, three with double-sink vanities. Four of the six baths have very large tiled walk-in showers; the other two have shower tubs, one of those featuring a Jacuzzi. Vaulted beamed ceilings throughout the home, with finish work done in native Koa wood. The large laundry is centrally located in the home featuring two Whirlpool Duet full-size washers/dryers.

Hale Pua is perfectly located; close enough for adults and kids to walk to Old Kona Town and the pier. Set back 130 feet from prestigious Alii Drive, behind a private remote-controlled gate, the setting is peaceful and secluded.

Part of Hale Pua's charm is its Hawaiian coastal open-air design. The home has louvered and screened windows throughout and features large wall-to-wall sliding doors on the ocean side of the house - the prevailing trade winds from the west over the ocean and the mountain breezes from the east keep the main living area of this island home comfortable with ceiling, table top and floor fans throughout.

Virtual Tour available


Hawaii Tax ID: TA-128-351-6416-01

Rooms and Amenities
Property Type House
Unit Code Hale Pua
Beds 5 king beds, 4 twin beds, 2 sleeper sofas, 1 bunk bed
Bathrooms 6 bathrooms
Rooms Sleeps 20
Floor Area 5140 square feet
Pets No pets allowed.
Standard Amenities Beachfront
Living A/C, Hot Tub, Ironing Board, Linens, Washer & Dryer, AC Charges Apply
Business Nearby Post Office
Entertainment WiFi Internet, Flat Screen Television
Kitchen Fully Equipped Kitchen
Outdoor BBQ Grill, Fishing, Hot Tub, Sight-Seeing, Snorkeling , Surfing, Scuba Diving, Ocean front, Private Pool
Family Beach , DVD Movies, Kids Games, Movie Theatre, Pack n Play, High Chair/Booster Seat
Convenience Area Fitness Center, Medical Services Nearby, Nearby Grocery
Geographic Exceptional Sunsets, Exceptional Views, Oceanfront
Average Manager Rating (Based on 2073 reviews)

Overall satisfaction

Services from rental manager
Average Vacation Rental Rating (Based on 28 reviews)

Overall satisfaction

Cleanliness

Location

Property condition
96 % of our reviewers would recommend this vacation rental.

Vacation Rental Reviews

  • Grench Review

    Stayed 9 days ending in August, 2017

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    Norman G does not recommend this vacation rental.

    We have been to the Big Island countless times. From Waikoloa to Kona to Kapoho. Hale Pua lacked nothing except trade winds. The hale was so huge and poorly ventilated that even with all them ceiling fans it was stuffy. The A/C was a must and in my opinion, after spending so much for the rental, it was cheap on your part to charge $60 a day for A/C. I know electricity is very expensive on the islands but you have all them solar panels to help offset some costs.

    • Manager Responded on 8/24/2017

      Thanks for your review. Like you, the owners have rented coastal homes from Puako to South Kona for the past 20 years. Most of those homes did not have A/C and the few that did (in bedrooms only) charged daily for the amenity, averaging $10/bedroom/day. Hale Pua can sleep up to 20 with its six bedrooms and another game room sleeping area, so $60/day is a very competitive and fair charge. Even with the solar panels, Hale Pua’s average electricity cost is $.34 per kwh, THREE times the mainland average. The owners have found their utility billing increase well above the $60/day when the A/C option is used, so they are actually subsidizing some additional cost for guest comfort. Hope this explains the pricing behind this amenity option.

  •  
  • The perfect paradise escape

    Stayed 7 days ending in July, 2017

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    a guest from Orinda, CA recommends this vacation rental

    We have just returned from celebrating our 50th wedding anniversary with our family of 12 and it could not have been more special. Hale Pua is located right on the water which allowed hours of relaxing, swimming, snorkeling and fishing. The wonderful pool was in constant use and the wall was the perfect spot for our young children to try their hands at fishing. Hint: the fish love shrimp. The kitchen was great and had every amenity possible. Having the 2 dishwashers was ideal - we used both every day. Except for a lunch, we ate in all the time. Why go out for meals when you have paradise at your doorstep! The bedrooms were perfect with comfortable beds and nice decor and the bathrooms had plenty of towels and great showers and tubs. Don't forget to bring soap for the showers and tubs. The house was very well maintained and very clean. We really appreciated working with Boundless Hawaii. They were very helpful and very friendly from beginning to end. We would all love to return to Hale Pua again. It was the perfect vacation!

    • Manager Responded on 7/20/2017

      Aloha and thank you for taking the time to a leave such a wonderful review! Please let us know when you return and we would be happy to host you for your next visit to Kona. Remember, as a returning guest you will be eligible for a 10% discount!

  •  
  • Family Vacation and small wedding ceremony

    Stayed 7 days ending in June, 2017

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    a guest from Fox Island, WA recommends this vacation rental

    Incredible, magical, could not have been more perfect. Stay here!

    • Manager Responded on 7/20/2017

      Aloha and mahalo for visiting. We would be so happy to welcome you back to Kona next time for a 10% discount as a returning guest.

  •  
  • Perfect Rental for Family Celebrating 50 Year Anniversary

    Stayed 4 days ending in June, 2017

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    a guest from Renton, WA recommends this vacation rental

    The location is perfect, right off the beach, and includes everything that we needed. The pool to keep the kids busy during the day. The beautiful surroundings as well as the accomodations. We were able to get a private chef to prepare the celebratory anniversary dinner and the kitchen was large enough for them to do their magic. Had a photographer come in to do family photos with the great ocean view in the background. We were able to do fishing, opihi picking, snorkeling, barbequing, watching movies, and of course just plain relaxing. Everything was perfect.

    • Manager Responded on 7/26/2017

      Mahalo for staying with us for your special celebration! This home provides the perfect setting for a memorable Hawaiian visit. We are happy that you enjoyed your time with us. Please let us know if you decide to return and we would be happy to offer a 10% discount for your next visit.

  •  
  • A Very Magical Place

    Stayed 6 days ending in February, 2017

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    a guest from Grand Lake, CO recommends this vacation rental

    The Kona area can be a very busy place which is fun but also can become a little tiring. When you step into the doors of this home, all of the hustle and bustle disappears. This house is so relaxing and you seldom see anyone else but those you are staying with, an occasional boat or surfer. Sitting on the seawall we were able to enjoy a display of tropical fish and turtles just below us. We also saw dolphins and whales in the distance. The opening walls of the house bring the outside in. The beds were great and with a group of 9,everyone had their own space. I highly recommend Hale Pua and hope to return again some day.

    • Manager Responded on 3/14/2017

      Thank you for leaving such a wonderful review. We are happy that you enjoyed your visit. We would love to host you and your group again!

  •  
  • Wonderful house!!!!!!

    Stayed 8 days ending in December, 2016

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    Mitzi F from Hickman, CA recommends this vacation rental

    This was a terrific house for a large family, such as ours. It was perfect!!! Plenty of room . The pool was the biggest hit!! The view was over the top !! We wouldn't hesitate to tell anyone what a great time we had! We hope to return!!!!

  •  
  • great place

    Stayed 7 days ending in November, 2016

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    Vernon W from Terre Haute, Indiana recommends this vacation rental

    everything went great. met by boundless rep when we arrived. Everything was as advertised and everything worked

  •  
  • Spectacular Property

    Stayed 10 days ending in August, 2016

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    Susan G from Bethesda, MD recommends this vacation rental

    Our family of 11 loved our stay at beautiful Hale Pua. Everything about the house exceeded our expectations: the size, the pool, the view, the furnishings, the kitchen equipment, the marvelous media room, the attention to detail, like providing flashlights and binoculars and pool toys. The other 7 members of our family visited us for the afternoon and evening three times and we never felt crowded, despite there being 18 of us. The house was impeccably cleaned and maintained. Only very strong swimmers could swim in the ocean in front of the house; it is quite rough with waves breaking into the rocks. But wonderful beaches are nearby. Can't recommend this house more highly.

  •  
  • Beautiful getaway for multigenerational family of 20!

    Stayed 7 days ending in August, 2016

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    Kathleen B from South Pasadena, CA recommends this vacation rental

    This house was absolutely wonderful! Everyone who stayed at the house felt its accommodations and appointments were stunning. The location, views, pool/jacuzzi, and air conditioned bed rooms made it a great spot for a large family getaway including those aged 8-78 (and many in between)! We did fit 20 into the house comfortably. The kitchen and extra refrigerators allowed us to stock up on groceries and prep/serve this group with ease. This property made our vacation so special! In fact, we went to a resort in Waikiki for the last stint of our vacation together and all we could say is "we wish we were back at the house!" and we do look forward to coming back one day! Thank you to the gracious owners and very efficient property managers!

  •  
  • A fantastic 50th wedding anniversary celebration with family!

    Stayed 7 days ending in June, 2016

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    a guest from Oceanside, CA recommends this vacation rental

    This house and grounds were awesome. Grilled dinners on the lanai, magnificent sunsets, plenty of activities for the grandchildren (game room, pool, and 3-D movies)- these are just a few of the amenities which made Hale Pua so special. Kitchen was spacious and well equipped. Large bedrooms spread out throughout the house gave everyone their space. Boundless Hawaii was efficient and non-intrusive. Hale Pua contributed immensely to making our celebration so memorable.

  •  
  • Amazing House

    Stayed 7 days ending in April, 2016

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    a guest from Los Angeles, Ca recommends this vacation rental

    The house was perfect for our family - so much space for everyone even the kids. All loved the pool, and the amazing views of the ocean. The kitchen was used daily and was the perfect gathering place for us. We thought two dishwashers was a bit much but wound up using two daily - a really nice touch. Only problem is we had to drive to get to a nice beach for snorkeling.
    Saw whales and a fisherman comes by daily with his catch - by nets - we bought 2 from him - unbelievably delicious.
    The agents were responsive and very helpful.
    An umbrella would be nice for those who want to be outside but not directly in the sun.

  •  
  • Big Island Family Vacation

    Stayed 7 days ending in February, 2016

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    Jan W from Merrill, OR recommends this vacation rental

    12 of us were very comfortable at Hale Pua. View, location are perfect. We did not use the Media room as who as time to watch TV in Hawaii ;) On the suggestion side, a pack and play would've been appreciated for the 18 month old.

    • Manager Responded on 3/9/2016

      Aloha Jan, mahalo for your lovely review and for your great FB posts and photos also! We would have so gladly brought you a pack & play, so we regret we didn't know you needed one. Please come back to visit soon!

  •  
  • A wonderful Christmas

    Stayed 14 days ending in January, 2016

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    a guest from Zephyr Cove, NV recommends this vacation rental

    20 family members aged 8 to 80

  •  
  • Williams Hale Pua house

    Stayed 7 days ending in August, 2015

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    Cindy W from Westlake Village, CA recommends this vacation rental

    Everything went beautifully.

  •  
  • Expectations surpassed~ 3 generations-14 folks all love Hale Pua

    Stayed 7 days ending in July, 2015

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    Barbara H from Billings, Montana recommends this vacation rental

    The property is even more beautiful than the desciptions and photos indicate! The setting is exquisite!!! We have taken numerous large group vacations and used VRBO but none compare to this property. It was impeccably clean, well appointed, and the layout is perfect for a blended group. We had 8 aduts and 6 kids - aged 7-15. All agreed with this assesment. The tide pools below the home bought large sea turtles. Surfers entertained us daily. We watched spiiner dolphins play offshore and numerous boats out exploring with their guests. Snorkeling directly from the house was great fun. All of us loved the pool right out te patio doors.

  •  
  • Hale Pua July 2015

    Stayed 7 days ending in July, 2015

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    a guest from Richland, WA recommends this vacation rental

    Hale Pua is a beautiful house with a great location. It accommodated our family of 13 with room to spare. It was hot & humid during our stay and because of no AC the house was extremely uncomfortable.

  •  
  • Hale Pua 2015

    Stayed 7 days ending in June, 2015

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    a guest from Houston, TX recommends this vacation rental

    Evwerything was wonderful. Only suggestion would be to upgrade the BBQ. Without air conditioning I believe most guests would rather cook outsie on the grill. The Boundless Hawaii people were wonderful and when we return we will use them again.

  •  
  • Hale Pua May 2015

    Stayed 10 days ending in June, 2015

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    Marty C from Green River, Wyoming recommends this vacation rental

    We chose Hale Pua in order to accommodate our 4 families with 12 individuals. This location, with it's 6 bedrooms/6 bath configuration met those needs perfectly. The house is very nicely appointed, including 5 new king beds and comfortable furniture. There are several different areas in the home to gather, a media room and game center, 2 living rooms and plenty of outdoor seating. The kitchen was perfect for large groups along with significant storage options. The home is close to Ali'i Dr activities, but far enough to still be private. Christine and Jamie at Boundless Hawaii took great care of us, including a first day meet and greet per the requests of the owners. We had high expectations and each were well met. It was a terrific place to have made our family memories and we hope some day to return to her welcoming arms.

  •  
  • Great, Great, Great!!!!

    Stayed 8 days ending in May, 2015

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    Joy R from Littleton, Colorado recommends this vacation rental

    We enjoyed a wonderful family reunion and 50th wedding anniversary gathering at this home. Beautiful house! We will return. The greeter was so helpful, as was Christina. Thank you!

  •  
  • Great Place to Stay!!

    Stayed 8 days ending in April, 2015

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    Steven S from Elmhurst, IL recommends this vacation rental

    We had 7 boys (3-8 yrs) and 12 adults. The place was absolutely perfect. Clean, well maintained, plenty of room, huge kitchen to feed the hungry crowd. The boys loved the pool, but we were close enough to town to visit regularly. The nicest place we have stayed for family vacation in 7 years. Loved the Da Poke Shack for lunch and Jackie Rey's and Quinns for dinner. Hapuna Beach, while a bit crowded, should not be missed.

  •  
  • Beautiful Home and Location

    Stayed 10 days ending in January, 2015

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    Julian R from Rio Oso, CA recommends this vacation rental

    Great place for a large family (three generations) vacation. There was plenty of rooms and beds for all 14 of us. Everyday we saw whales and dolphins from the backyard and every evening was a picture perfect sunset. Can sit right on the rock wall and see turtles and colorful fish in the ocean below. Easy access to the water for snorkeling or surfing right from the house. Five minute walk to a local farmers market. House is very clean and property management company very responsive.

  •  
  • Hale Pua

    Stayed 9 days ending in January, 2015

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    Barbara A from Glen, CA recommends this vacation rental

    Wonderful vacation. Our family enjoyed the whale and dolphin watching,beautiful sunsets, and coffee on the patio in the mornings. Had a problem with the spa and the smoke alarms but worked through them.

  •  
  • Hale Pua is an amazing house for vacation

    Stayed 5 days ending in September, 2014

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    a guest from Philadelphia, PA recommends this vacation rental

    The house has a fantastic ocean view. Nothing you can complain , everyday you will enjoy ocean sunset. There are many awesome amenities, such as home theatre, pool, spa and a huge kitchen! I will definitely book the house next time for family union. I just wish if there is AC, it will be perfect.

  •  
  • Review of Hale Pua

    Stayed 7 days ending in June, 2014

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    Betty & Doctor Earl S from San Jose, CA recommends this vacation rental

    The cleanliness of the property was excellent. However, the kitchen supplies were almost non-existent. The cooking pans were very old and food stuck to their surfaces. We had to buy (and leave at the house) a flat Teflon pan and cooking utensil so we could cook eggs. No common cooking items were available, such as baking powder, baking soda, or sugar or flour. We had to buy these common items, which we left there also. There were no napkins either, which we bought and left there too. Basic cooking supplies should be available at the home. Also the light over the kitchen table did not work, so evening dinners for our family were not as bright as they could have been. Otherwise, a beautiful home at a gorgeous location.

  •  
  • Beautiful Hale Pua!

    Stayed 10 days ending in June, 2014

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    a guest from Centennial, CO recommends this vacation rental

    This my first time renting a home for a family vacation. Hale Pua met all of our expectations! Spacious, loved the pool, the view, the kitchen-we cooked more than we thought we would because the kitchen was so fabulous and well appointed. Ocean breeze all day long. This was perfect for our large family.

  •  
  • Fantastic Vacation Home

    Stayed 7 days ending in November, 2013

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    a guest from Paramus, NJ recommends this vacation rental

    My family and I had the pleasure of staying at Hale Pua in November 2013. The location of the house and the house itself made for a great vacation for my family. The modern interior, comfortable furniture, modern home theater, swimming pool and most importantly The view of the ocean and waking up to the sound of waves made this house truly special. Boundless Hawaii was a pleasure to interact with and we are looking forward to staying here again soon!

  •  
  • Hale Pua

    Stayed 3 days ending in September, 2013

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    Bobby F from Kailua, HI recommends this vacation rental

    I had a business trip planned for my supervisors of my construction company and this place worked out great. Big and comfortable house. The media room was great! The view and sunsets were spectacular. We even did some snorkeling and there was plenty to see. You could sit on the lanai and watch the dolphins jumping. The house was a little hot. No AC and Kona can get pretty warm. A few more portable fans would be good. But overall a great place in a very convineant location.

  •  
  • Hale Pua

    Stayed 7 days ending in August, 2013

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    a guest from Parker, CO recommends this vacation rental

    Everything was great, much more than we expected, our family of 15 was delighted.

  •  
Getting your rate Getting your rate...
1. Select Your Dates to Check Availability

Click calendar to set checkin/checkout dates. clear calendar

 Unavailable  Selected  Available  Checkin only  Checkout only
2. Review Dates and Rates

Select/Confirm the number of travelers to get a rate quote.

: :
Base Rent:
Fees & Taxes:*
Total Price:
:
:
*Click 'Continue Booking' to view details of fees & taxes

To request information about booking this vacation rental, please fill out the form below.


Sorry, we encountered the following error(s):

  • Unable to process request.
loading Sending Email...
Your email has been sent successfully!

Sorry, we encountered the following error(s):

  • Unable to process request.
loading Sending Email...
Your email has been sent successfully!
19.61183,-155.980417

Boundless Hawaii, LLC 75-5865 Walua Road Suite F1 Kailua Kona, Hawaii 96740 +1 (877) 782-5662 reservations@boundlesshawaii.com

© 1999 - 2017 | Powered By Escapia Vacation Rental Software | Terms of Use

Logon