A Treasured Hawaii Experience

Book by phone: +1 (877) 782-5662

Kona Makai 6101

Guest Rating:

Vacation rental condominium. Sleeps 4, 2 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms. No pets allowed.

Kailua Kona, HI 96740 United States

The Kona Makai is one of Kona's favorite repeat destinations. This oceanfront community offers ocean views to no end.

This unit is one of the 6 prime units in the entire complex. It literally hangs over the sea! When the water is calm, you can slip right into the water for a nice snorkel off your front door (not for the first time snorkeler though).

This is a spacious two bedroom 2 bath suite. The master fronts the ocean, the guest suite also has an ocean view. Huge wrap-around lanais add another whole dimension to your family adventure in this suite.

These oceanfront units are the most prized units in the complex.

Kona Makai is an oceanfront condominium complex of about 100 one and two bedroom units located one mile from the beautiful town of Kailua-Kona. Amenities include an ocean-side swimming pool, jacuzzi, tennis courts, cabana area and barbecue area. The whole complex is surrounded by lush manicured and landscaped gardens overflowing with tropical flowers. Enjoy spectacular ocean views, sipping a cup of Kona Coffee while dolphins and whales are splashing around right in front of your Lanai.

The complex has direct access to the black lava Coast of the Pacific ocean for spectacular snorkeling and/or diving and is just a couple of miles down the shoreline from several wonderful beaches with opportunities to enjoy the graceful green sea turtles.

If you are seeking local markets and historical context, downtown Kailua-Kona a short walk (1 mile) away for access to shopping, businesses, waterfront restaurants and hotels. Watch the people and the cruise ships come and go from the Kailua Pier. Visit the famous Farmer's Market. Enjoy a shave ice or a cup of Kona coffee, have a light snack or a gourmet meal, buy an inexpensive souvenir or a piece of fine art, book an activity, go for a swim or hang out on the many beautiful beaches.

Up the coast is a busy marina with Hawaii's best scuba diving, big-game fishing, kayaking, dolphin and whale watching and other ocean activities. Kona Makai is conveniently located, a great home base to explore the many wonders of the Big Island including Volcano National Park, Mauna Kea Observatory, coffee and macadamia nut farms, artist communities, and more!

Click Here for Virtual Tour


HAWAII TAX ID # TA-116-922-3680-01

Rooms and Amenities
Property Type Condominium
Unit Code KM 6101
Beds 1 queen bed, 2 twin beds
Bathrooms 2 bathrooms
Rooms Sleeps 4
Floor Area 1120 square feet
Pets No pets allowed.
Standard Amenities Oceanfront
Living A/C, Hot Tub, Linens, Washer & Dryer
Entertainment Cable Television, CD Player, Internet access, Television, WiFi Internet
Kitchen Fully Equipped Kitchen
Outdoor Art Studios, ATV Rental, Balcony, BBQ Grill, Beach Walking, Beachcombing, Biking, Boating, Boogie Boarding, Coffee Plantations, Deep Sea Fishing, Dolphin Habitat, Fishing, Galleries, Gas Grill, Hiking Trails, Jet Ski Rental, Ocean Kayaking, Outdoor Shower, Shared Swimming Pool, Sight-Seeing, Snorkeling , Surfing, Swimming, Tennis, Wildlife Viewing, Scuba Diving, Manta Ray Diving, Whale Watching, Dolphin Watching, Dinner Cruises, Snorkel Trips, Sunbathing, Ocean front
Family Beach , Library, Miniature Golf, Movie Theatre, Playground
Convenience Area Fitness Center, Craft Shopping, Medical Services Nearby, Nearby Grocery, Shopping, Snorkel Beach
Geographic Exceptional Sunsets, Exceptional Views, Ocean view, Waterfront
Average Manager Rating (Based on 2037 reviews)

Overall satisfaction

Services from rental manager
Average Vacation Rental Rating (Based on 47 reviews)

Overall satisfaction

Cleanliness

Location

Property condition
94 % of our reviewers would recommend this vacation rental.

Vacation Rental Reviews

  • Outstanding Location Ocean Front Condo

    Stayed 21 days ending in February, 2017

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    Amy T from Marysville, WA recommends this vacation rental

    Lucky me to find this wonderful two bedroom condo so late. Very comfortable and amazing location. All rooms accessed the huge deck and ocean view.
    Kitchen was well supplied with cooking items. More than adequate closet space, shower and tub available between the two bathrooms. Nicely arranged for two couples with privacy for both.
    Complex well kept with adequate parking, nice pool and hot tub.
    Would happily return to this unit.

  •  
  • Amazing view from the lanai!

    Stayed 6 days ending in June, 2016

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    a guest from Albany, OR does not recommend this vacation rental.

    The view from the lanai was incredible and we spent many hours relaxing on the lanai. The outside of the condo's is very nice, with great landscaping and a nice size pool. It's a very roomy condo and the kitchen was well outfitted. But, my first impression of the condo was that it was "tired". The carpet was stained and the mattresses needed to be updated. The mattress in the master bedroom had a spring or some other piece of metal sticking out of the side. I scratched my leg on it and we put a folded towel under the sheet to keep it from poking through. The twin mattresses are worn and have 3" foam on top which is both uncomfortable and hot to try to sleep on. The lamps in the bedroom are too low both in wattage and height to read by. We put books under them to raise them up a bit. If the mattresses were replaced with quality sets, the carpet cleaned and the and lamps replaced, I wouldn't hesitate to recommend the property to others.

    • Manager Responded on 9/20/2016

      Thank you for your visit to our condo and your feedback. This condo sits right on the ocean, which is one of the biggest perks to staying at this location. With that, it can also wear on the unit very quickly. The carpet was replaced about 2 years ago and receives regular professional cleaning, though it is not serviced after every checkout. We will plan for another cleaning service to bring it back up to standard. As for the mattresses, we have recently replaced the master and guest bedroom mattresses and apologize for any discomfort with the older sets during your visit. Thank you again, and we hope that you will choose to visit with us for your next trip to Kona.

  •  
  • Oceanfront splendor

    Stayed 7 days ending in December, 2015

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    Vickie L from Camano Island, WA recommends this vacation rental

    The views were amazing. Great floor plan. Could use a little updating.

  •  
  • Paradise by the waves

    Stayed 14 days ending in December, 2015

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    a guest from Anchorage, AK recommends this vacation rental

    The kona makai complex is lovely and intimate with friendly residents and a helpful manager. Unit 6101 is primo with its huge shady or sunny side lanai and right over the waves location. We'll kept furniture well equipped kitchen comfy beds and quiet. Couldn't ask for better. Boundless Hawaii doe fantastic job taking care of us before and during the stay. Mahalo and Aloha till next time!

  •  
  • Ocean side Kona

    Stayed 5 days ending in September, 2015

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    Karen F from Honolulu, Hawaii recommends this vacation rental

    an excellent stay in my favorite condo, right on the water, peaceful , beautiful and well maintained unit, along with a number to call if you need anything, with great customer service !

  •  
  • Right on the water.

    Stayed 7 days ending in September, 2015

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    a guest from San Jose, CA recommends this vacation rental

    This is my second stay at Kona Makai 6101. The location is great. We were only a few miles from most restaurants and bars. The balcony is large and has a great view of the ocean despite the metal railing. The common areas (pool, bbq, lounge chairs, etc...) is well maintained and clean. Being on the 1st floor is nice and still affords great views.

    Negatives - 1) The condo is a bit dated and needs maintenance. One of the showers is almost unusable as the knob used to turn on and adjust water temp has a mind of its own. 2) The carpet is stained and old. 3) Deferred maintenance all around from doors, paint, couches, beds, etc...

  •  
  • Love the view

    Stayed 15 days ending in July, 2015

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    Erin R from madera, ca recommends this vacation rental

    Always love waking up to the ocean by my door

  •  
  • Hawaii Relaxation

    Stayed 10 days ending in June, 2015

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    John C from VISTA, CA recommends this vacation rental

    Love this unit. The end, right above the water. If the sound of the waves are not relaxing for you, then I wouldn't suggest this unit. Leave the screendoors open and have a constant tropical breeze. Would definitely stay there again.

  •  
  • Chill out and watch the dolphins.

    Stayed 7 days ending in May, 2015

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    Randall H from Omak, WA recommends this vacation rental

    The condo is a little "tired" and could use an update, but it's very functional and in a perfect location. Very good bang for the buck. Have already booked same condo for next year.

  •  
  • May 2015

    Stayed 5 days ending in May, 2015

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    Karen F from Honolulu, Hawaii recommends this vacation rental

    clean, excellent unit and view, been here many time and hope to be back many more :)

  •  
  • Kona trip

    Stayed 7 days ending in April, 2015

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    a guest from Petaluma, ca recommends this vacation rental

    Location could not be better, the lanai is outstanding, it is right above the crashing water and the ocean sound is amazing. Condo was clean, well stocked, the bathrooms are adequate and clean, maybe a bit dated but not a big issue. Had a great time and will return!

  •  
  • Kona Makai 6101 review

    Stayed 9 days ending in April, 2015

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    a guest from Vancouver, WA recommends this vacation rental

    Had a great time, awesome views . Grounds and pool were very well maintained .Inside condo could be a little cleaner , needs some updating ,carpet , ceiling repairs etc.

  •  
  • Great place, but not an entirely accurate description

    Stayed 3 days ending in March, 2015

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    Leilani A from Honolulu, HI does not recommend this vacation rental.

    Great view, clean and well equipped kitchen. My only complaint is that the photos do not completely describe how exposed/un-private the balcony is. On the right is another condo that sticks out about 40 feet, so many balconies are faced right at you. On the left side is the pool and communal barbecue area. This unit is on the second floor of a 3 story unit. It's still a great place, but it's expensive so you should know what you are and are not getting for the price.

  •  
  • A Unique stay in Paradise

    Stayed 17 days ending in March, 2015

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    Naomi M from Meudon, France recommends this vacation rental

    A wonderful experience on the waterfront where we watched whales and dolphins go by from the balcony. The bird life is abundant as well; the highlight being the night heron. All seen from the lanai facing the sea. The kitchen has been updated and looks very nice. However, more dishes, large salade bowl, mugs, etc. would be welcome.

  •  
  • Ocean front condo experience

    Stayed 54 days ending in March, 2015

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    Phil F from Milltown, WI recommends this vacation rental

    Wonderful location a stone's throw from the ocean. Beach chairs and boogie boards and coolers are provided. he complex is friendly with pool and exercise room. The management company was very responsive to issues although we did receive out of date passwords originally. The furniture needs to be replaced as it no longer has padding. The unit also needs a good deep cleaning.

  •  
  • A lanai to live on!

    Stayed 6 days ending in October, 2014

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    Rebecca Kay P from Westminster, CO recommends this vacation rental

    I barely spent any time in the condo itself, as the lanai wraps all the way around the condo, with incredible ocean views. There is nothing like going to sleep at night with the ocean crashing just outside your room. For our hosts from our marketing perspective - add more photos to highlight that wonderful lanai and how expansive it is.

  •  
  • A little bit of Pardise!

    Stayed 14 days ending in August, 2014

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    Mary Jane A from Lynchburg, Virginia recommends this vacation rental

    The views from this condo is amazing, we had a very relaxing time just sitting on the lanai drinking our morning "Kona" coffee watching, snorkeling, dolphins, parasailing and just listening to the sounds of the ocean smacking against the lava rocks. The complex is secure and the grounds are immaculate. Location is central and close to food, shopping and island attractions. We had a couple of issues but the Realtors took care of them right away. Would I recommend and go back...you bettcha!!!

  •  
  • The Perfect Home Away From Home

    Stayed 13 days ending in July, 2014

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    Jon G from Los Angeles, CA recommends this vacation rental

    I'm always a little bit leery about making a reservation for a place that I can't see with my own eyes but only through pictures posted on the internet but this one did not disappoint at all. The photos looked amazing but the actual rental was even better than it showed in the photographs.

    The unit was clean and fully stocked with everything my wife and boys could possibly need for our vacation.

    The view was spectacular, amazing sunsets, and nothing between you and the ocean except some lava rocks.

    Parking was simple. The kitchen was easy to use. The laundry machines were relatively new and worked well. The A/C was only in the bedrooms but worked well enough. TV only got local channels but we didn't watch it much. Would have been nice to have Netflix but we couldn't get it to work.

    We will definitely be back.

  •  
  • Oceanfront condo

    Stayed 5 days ending in May, 2014

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    Karen F from Honolulu, Hawaii recommends this vacation rental

    Everything was great , except when I arrived to the condo, the clothes dryer was not working, although the management company tried their best, it was not able to get fixed during my 5 day stay

  •  
  • Stunning Views and perfect accomodations!

    Stayed 7 days ending in April, 2014

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    Darcy H from Anchorage, Alaska recommends this vacation rental

    We absolutely loved this unit. Upon arrival we felt at home. Although it was only the two of us, myself and husband, we opted for the 2 bedroom for keeping of our clothes, and luggage.

    The bed in the master was comfortable, and the kitchen stocked full of all the gadgets you need away from home.

    Our deck was a wrap around, so very spacious. We spent most of our time "at home" there if we were not on the go. We were able to jump in and scuba dive right there, in front of the condo. Caution though, only good swimmers since youre climbing back up the lava rocks and during times of waves, you tend to get "washed" back up on the rocks.

    You can hear the waves crashing at all times, which was peaceful.

    The only negatives were 1) having to check out and leave and 2) the unit it directly above the ping pong table and activity area.

    Normally there arent young kiddos there, however our stay overlapped with a family that had 4 energetic kids that utilized the ping pong table at hours as late as 10pm.

  •  
  • Excellent Value at Kona Makai

    Stayed 6 days ending in April, 2014

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    Dean P from Ladera, CA recommends this vacation rental

    Overall very clean unit and beds in good condition. Some minor quibbles. Still an Ant problem mainly in the kitchen "Despite seeing the pest control come during our stay". I think these ants are resilient and living in the walls. WE even put everything in the refrigerator and this helped somewhat but the occasional "ant scout" was still present. Also, there was a huge cockroach found in the Master Bedroom and one of the blinds broke. A call to the office let them know about the blinds however this was not fixed my entire stay. Not a huge deal but it would have been nice to not risk having the blinds fall off the ceiling as is was just hanging by a thread. Bare minimum spices and necessities in the unit. Makes you wonder if cleaning crew keeps all the left overs from other renters for themselves or do the renters take the stuff? Considering how expensive food items are in Hawaii, it was annoying to purchase $25 worth of spices when you would use not a 10th of it. I also left 2 beach umbrellas behind, we'll see how long they last in the apartment. The electrical outlets are very loose throughout the unit, never know if your phone or camera is charging completely or not. The ceiling fans are not that effective due to low ceilings, but the A/C units work very well in the bedrooms. I would like to stop hearing of bug problems at Kona Makai, and less complaints of things missing from the unit (left by thoughtful renters). If these problems go away, I will return as the unit is very nice.

    • Manager Responded on 4/17/2014

      Aloha Mr. Pericone, I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed your vacation and that you have returned home safely. We received your review and I would like to follow-up with you and thank you for your feedback. We always appreciate guest input to help us maintain our units. I'm concerned to hear that you had issues with the blinds. We sent a handyman on April 9th to visit your unit shortly after you called to report the issue. He was on-site at Kona Makai property visiting another unit. I spoke with him today and he verified that he repaired the blinds and left a message on your phone, as there was no answer. Were you still having issues before you left? The blinds were tested in working condition during the repair, but maybe there was a separate issue that he was not aware of. I have been in touch with the on-site management team regarding the ant issue. Pest control is administered and monitored by their staff. We have scheduled a second treatment and are working to find some way to increase the intensity and/or coverage area. I understand your concerns with the the spices and food material. We know that it is not convenient to have to purchase new items for minimal use, be we do request that our cleaners remove any food items. There is a fine line, so we ask them to use their best judgement to prevent any potential issues or passing of germs. Also, things can spoil quickly and seasoning may clump due to the moisture. There are often some spices left behind, but the cleaners may at times only leave salt and pepper. I am so sorry that you experienced issues during your stay. We are working to find solutions. Again, I thank you for your input. I hope this helps understand how things work on our end. We hope that you keep us in mind for your next visit. As a returning guest you are eligible for a 10% discount. Mahalo, Boundless Hawaii Team

  •  
  • Kona Makai Vacation

    Stayed 21 days ending in March, 2014

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    a guest from Klamath, OR recommends this vacation rental

    Lovely location

  •  
  • very responsive

    Stayed 17 days ending in February, 2014

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    Phil F from Milltown, WI recommends this vacation rental

    Management company very responsive on an ant problem. Condo is dated but great location


  •  
  • Should of stayed longer!

    Stayed 15 days ending in January, 2014

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    Jody M from Wasilla, AK recommends this vacation rental

    The property and location were wonderful. It was great waking up each morning to hearing and seeing the ocean. The location was close to everything and very easy to find from the airport with the directions provided. The only concern was some of the people around the pool didn't seem to like kids. My kids were older, so we didn't have much of a problem, but one lady was mad because she was getting splashed. I'm not sure why she was sitting by the pool if she wasn't prepared to get a little wet. Isn't that the whole point?!

  •  
  • Water's Edge on Big Island

    Stayed 4 days ending in December, 2013

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    Maggie K recommends this vacation rental

    This is a great location, especially if you love to sleep to the sound of the ocean. Be prepared for that to be pounding surf in the winter months. We loved it! Convenient location, private and relatively quiet. The condo was well furnished and comfortable with an awesome view. The only little issue was that we were challenged to keep the ants at bay. Put packaged foods in the fridge. We had a great time and found the condo to be good value even in the busy holiday period. Thank you

  •  
  • Enjoyable and Relaxing Stay

    Stayed 8 days ending in September, 2013

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    Teri M from Lynnwood, WA recommends this vacation rental

    So good, I actually selfishly feel hesitant to recommend. Great location, fantastic view, everything you need for a fabulous vacation in paradise.
    Thank you to the owners for opening your lovely condo to us.

  •  
  • Terrifc condo

    Stayed 5 days ending in August, 2013

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    Janis K from Sacramento, CA recommends this vacation rental

    Stunning view of the ocean with a wrap around balcony. We were concerned about the heat and humidity in August but each bedroom and the kitchen and living room all had access to the breeze from the ocean which kept us all very comfortable. the bedrooms, each with their own bathroom, were spacious and made for an extremely comfortable stay. late birds could stay up and early birds could rise early without impacting others. We would definitely stay here again.

  •  
  • Best vacation ever to date...

    Stayed 8 days ending in April, 2013

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    Danny & Cindy T from Carson City, NV recommends this vacation rental

    This was our first time using a VRBO location/condo. We found the property to meticulously attended to. The rental property was clean and orderly containing the necessities to start off the visit. Though dated, the condo was good to go and well outfitted with conveniences. Free WIFI was a bonus on this property which made it easy to stay in contact with the Mainland. Our specific oceanfront view was overwhelming with beauty, providing views of dolphins/porpoises playing, whales swimming and panoramic sunset views. The second bedroom had two twin beds, a second queen would have been nice; but our travel buddies just pushed them together. This property was just a short distance to Kailua which is full of outstanding restaurants, the KONA Brewery, COSTCO and other venues. Three BBQ grills graced the common patio area literally yards from the ocean. The pool and jacuzzi were clean and well maintained, but the rules a little too stringent (Heck were adults on vacation and they closed them at 9:00 PM) Just a heads up, very difficult/hazardous ocean (I wouldn't let young children wander!) access due to the typical KONA lava coast. If there is such a possible thing to complain about,,, The ocean was too loud... LOL... Love this location and will absolutely return..!

  •  
  • Ocean Front with sunset spectaculars

    Stayed 16 days ending in March, 2013

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    a guest from Bend, OR recommends this vacation rental

    Would like to visit again, soon.

  •  
  • The Best Yet!

    Stayed 19 days ending in March, 2013

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    Naomi M from Meudon, France recommends this vacation rental

    There is nothing better than an ocean front rental and this one is the tops. It would be even better if the lanai had some lighting. At the moment it has a lamp from the sittingroom on a small lanai table. It was difficult to see what was in our dinner plates. More forks (only 5 left) would not go amiss, nor another medium size casserole, new non stick frying pan, and more dishes for cereal or desert, more small plates and dinner plates in crockery and not melanine please (there are lots of those). We have been in this condo 5 times now and over the years the general state of the interior has deteriorated. It needs a complete renovation, carpets and furniture included (bed in main bedroom is comfortable,however. The twins are too soft and need replacing). Things could be better, but we are still happy to come back - and we will. Just a note about the Kona Makai complex. It is an extremely well-looked after residence, with very friendly and hard-working staff. And people are friendly and you will get to know them if you stay long enough. The place is quiet. There are not enough amenities for small children so I would not recommend this place for young families. I imagine the average age is above 50. We have recommended this condo to our friends.

  •  
  • great view but...

    Stayed 8 days ending in February, 2013

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    Frank M from Waterford, WI recommends this vacation rental

    The view, location, staff were great. The layout of the unit was fine, large lanai. Very dated furniture, bedding etc. Carpets need to be replaced.
    uncomfortable chairs.

  •  
  • An amazing ocean view and comfortable condo

    Stayed 10 days ending in February, 2013

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    Berta M from Stillwater, Minn recommends this vacation rental

    This condo was very clean and roomy, right on the ocean. A wrap-around lanai was our "living room" when we were there. Saw whales every day, spinner dolphins too! Nice furnishings, linens were clean and soft. The apartment-sized washer/dryer was much appreciated. The grounds were beautifully kept and quiet; even though the property is on busy Ali'i Drive, we never heard any road noise (just the waves crashing on the lava shore). Very good location, about 1.5 miles away from farmers market, town. Good shoulder along highway to walk, bike. The check-in process was simple: fill out a card, drop it in the box (when I finally did catch someone in the office, he seemed surprised that I didn't know that was all I had to do, so that might be better explained in the "When You Get Here" document).

    A few constructive comments: the carpets could be cleaner (I would rip them out and put down tile); dishwasher did not clean dishes (we did them by hand, no big deal); would like more refrigerator storage containers in kitchen; knives needed sharpening. Could use nicer pots/pans, but if you don't like to cook on vacation that wouldn't be an issue.

    I think the "no games in the pool" policy and overall quieter atmosphere cultivated here should be communicated more strongly to prospective renters. Don't get me wrong--our children are grown and I appreciated the serenity very much. But if I had brought children, I would be very nervous allowing them to swim in the pool because, of course, children will make some noise playing in the water.

    Will we come back? Absolutely; in fact we are planning to rent again next January!

  •  
  • A million dollars view

    Stayed 11 days ending in January, 2013

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    Vincent M from Shannon, Quebec recommends this vacation rental

    A lanai 25 ft from the sea, you can see the ocean from every room of the condo. The condo is well maintain with all you need for nice vacation. Very quiet site white nice pool and a lot of flowers. Take a breakfast on the lanai watching whales and dolphin was priceless.

  •  
  • Great Spot

    Stayed 3 days ending in December, 2012

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    a guest from Calgary, Alberta recommends this vacation rental

    We were thrilled to have such a fabulous condo. The location is second to none.

  •  
  • Fabulous stay, awesome view

    Stayed 13 days ending in September, 2012

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    Teri M from Lynnwood, WA recommends this vacation rental

    Exceptional location with excellent views of sunsets and spinner dolphins off the 100 foot wrap around lanai. Very relaxing, will come again.

  •  
  • loved the holiday in Kona

    Stayed 14 days ending in July, 2012

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    Mavis N from Chandler, Queens Land recommends this vacation rental

    we had a fabulous time at Kona Makai, only 1 suggestion for a clothes airer or clothes line for clothes that you can't put in the dryer.

  •  
  • Kona Vacation

    Stayed 46 days ending in February, 2012

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    a guest from Lake Stevens, WA recommends this vacation rental

    Great Island with a super little town of Kailua. The condo unit we stayed in was well located and we enjoyed every day spent there. A few things needed some attention such as the Television. It is of the old analog type and most of the time required turning it on several times before it would stay on and focus. This was not a problem for us as we used it only on two or three occasions. When we did have a problem (plumbing and a broken deck chair) Prince Properties handled it quickly and efficiently. Overall a great Hawaiian experience.

  •  
  • Nice ocean front condo but children not welcome

    Stayed 7 days ending in December, 2011

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    a guest from Weyburn, Saskatchewan does not recommend this vacation rental.

    The view from the large lanai is awesome but the condo itself is a bit dated and comforters, etc. Had not been cleaned for a while. The big disappointment for us, however, was all the restrictions put on kids there. They can't have toys or play games in the pool and must be 14 to go in hot tub. People actually complained that our kids were in the hot tub and there was never anyone else at the pool area.

  •  
  • don't understand what this means by a title???????????

    Stayed 5 days ending in December, 2011

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    Bonnie J from Bainbridge Island, WA recommends this vacation rental

    We did not like the decor of the funiture. It was pretty dated and used. The building is old and the doors and woodwork were not in really good condition. We tried to play tennis and there was a $25. refundable charge to get the key and play. However, it was impossible to get the key as office was always closed, no one there. That is rediculous to lock the courts and not have your own key to open it to play. Wish the pool was heated. The place was very clean though.

  •  
  • Beautiful

    Stayed 15 days ending in November, 2011

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    a guest from Long Beach, WA recommends this vacation rental

    Overall it was nice. Unfortunately, they were working on the unit above us and woke up to jackhammers and men on the lanai 8 of the 16 mornings we were there. Kids liked the pool except they couldn't take any toys in the water.

  •  
  • Dated condo with a FANTASTIC view!

    Stayed 7 days ending in October, 2011

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    Gena A from The Woodlands, TX recommends this vacation rental

    This condo needs to be updated! The furniture is well worn, the carpets are gross looking - although they seemed clean, and if the person above you uses their AC, the condensation runs down to the ceiling of this condo and then drips onto the floor. We strategically placed towels so that the floor wouldn't get any more stained. If you bring food to the condo, keep it well sealed or in the refrigerator bc otherwise the ants will invade. All that being said, I would stay in the same condo again just for the lanai and view! They are amazing!! The grounds are also well maintained and beautiful. You can get in some open water swimming right off the rocks if you wish. It's only about 1.5 miles into the center of town, so an easy walk.

  •  
  • WiFi poor

    Stayed 8 days ending in October, 2011

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    a guest from Pacific Grove, CA recommends this vacation rental

    The WiFi service is terrible and needs to be improved

  •  
  • Great location and lots of action on the water.

    Stayed 9 days ending in September, 2011

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    a guest from Saratoga, CA recommends this vacation rental

    There was only one wash cloth in the unit - others were delivered later. Several plates were damaged beyond usefulness. The carpet needs a really good shampooing in all rooms. The remote control for the ceiling fan was not visible. The faucet above the tub in the small bathroom was very difficult to operate. These were reported to the management in writing. Otherwise, the things that really matter like the view, location, lovely surroundings, were stunning. The wraparound lanai was wonderful. I have stayed in the above unit, 6102 for several years so I know this property very well.

  •  
  • The best sunsets around

    Stayed 6 days ending in July, 2011

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    John D from Grand Junction, Colorado recommends this vacation rental

    We had a great time. It was the first time to Hawaii and the first to rent a condo. It has all the comforts of home, quiet, super clean and the Lanni was great. We watched every sunset while we were there. Would be great for kids too.

  •  
  • The best

    Stayed 11 days ending in June, 2011

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    a guest from Huavhuca City, AZ recommends this vacation rental

    Be back next year !!

  •  
  • KONA MAKAI 6101 in KAILUA KONA

    Stayed 7 days ending in May, 2011

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    a guest from Vallejo, CA recommends this vacation rental

    Excellent Location! Well equiped unit. The grounds, pool and spa were very well taken cared. Would definitely recommend it and would rent it again. Aloha!

  •  
  • Awsome views from Lanai, I could even see the surf by just rolling over in bed! Great location

    Stayed 7 days ending in July, 2010

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    Todd L from San Jose, CA recommends this vacation rental

  •  
Getting your rate Getting your rate...
1. Select Your Dates to Check Availability

Click calendar to set checkin/checkout dates. clear calendar

 Unavailable  Selected  Available  Checkin only  Checkout only
2. Review Dates and Rates

Select/Confirm the number of travelers to get a rate quote.

: :
Base Rent:
Fees & Taxes:*
Total Price:
:
:
*Click 'Continue Booking' to view details of fees & taxes

To request information about booking this vacation rental, please fill out the form below.


Sorry, we encountered the following error(s):

  • Unable to process request.
loading Sending Email...
Your email has been sent successfully!

Sorry, we encountered the following error(s):

  • Unable to process request.
loading Sending Email...
Your email has been sent successfully!
19.61985,-155.9854

Boundless Hawaii, LLC 75-5865 Walua Road Suite F1 Kailua Kona, Hawaii 96740 +1 (877) 782-5662 reservations@boundlesshawaii.com

© 1999 - 2017 | Powered By Escapia Vacation Rental Software | Terms of Use

Logon