A Treasured Hawaii Experience

Book by phone: +1 (877) 782-5662

Makalauna Hale (Kona Oasis)

Guest Rating:

Vacation rental house. Sleeps 8, 3 bedrooms, 3 bathrooms. No pets allowed.

Kona, HI 96740 United States

From the minute to enter this private gated community, this home exudes privacy and Island Elegance.

Beginning with a literal million dollar view of the Kona Coast, you can see North to the airport, South to Kalakekua Bay. The outdoor living areas are as exciting or more so than the indoor living areas. A black bottom salt water pool. A paiā€™pai for outdoor relaxing and resting, a gourmet Viking equipped outdoor kitchen.
Inside you are taken back by the Island style vaulted ceilings, travertine, granite with no exception attention to detail throughout.
The main house offers two very spacious bedrooms, and master suite baths. The second pod offers another suite for complete privacy and intimacy, or a place for the children to be children. Both the master bedroom as well as the pod offers outdoor showers. What a way to relax!
The grounds are lush where tropical fragrance abounds and the views are again for ever.
This is like having your private Hale at the Four Seasons, only better.
The Garage is locked and not for guest use.
7 night minimum. ****Can rent 2 bedrooms (sleeps six starting at $325 per night low season)****. Other two(twin) beds are located in separate ohana. Entire house LIMITED SPECAIl $399.00 for 7 nights~!

Rooms and Amenities
Property Type House
Unit Code Maka
Beds 1 king bed, 1 queen bed, 2 twin beds
Bathrooms 3 bathrooms
Rooms Sleeps 8, One bedroom has two Q size beds.
Pets No pets allowed.
Living Fully Equiped Kitchen, Linens, Washer & Dryer, Whirlpool Tub
Entertainment Cable Television, CD Player, Internet access, Television
Kitchen Blender, Coffee Maker, Cookware, Dishwasher, Full Kitchen, Microwave, Oven, Refrigerator, Stove, Toaster, Utensils
Outdoor ATV Rental, BBQ Grill, Beach Walking, Beachcombing, Biking, Boating, Boogie Boarding, Coffee Plantations, Deep Sea Fishing, Fishing, Galleries, Gas Grill, Hiking Trails, Jet Ski Rental, Ocean Kayaking, Outdoor Shower, Private Swimming Pool, Sight-Seeing, Snorkeling , Surfing, Swimming, Tennis
Family Beach , Library, Miniature Golf, Movie Theatre, Playground
Convenience Area Fitness Center, Craft Shopping, Medical Services Nearby, Nearby Grocery, Outlet Shopping, Shopping, Snorkel Beach
Geographic Exceptional Sunrises, Exceptional Sunsets, Exceptional Views, Near Beach
Average Manager Rating (Based on 1833 reviews)

Overall satisfaction

Services from rental manager
Average Vacation Rental Rating (Based on 3 reviews)

Overall satisfaction



Property condition
33 % of our reviewers would recommend this vacation rental.

Vacation Rental Reviews

  • With some minor improvements this could be great

    Stayed 5 days ending in January, 2012

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    William P from Highland Park, IL does not recommend this vacation rental.

    Overall I would give the experience a 7 out of 10. The house itself is a a stong 9+ but we had a few issues with the management team that wasn't addressed throughout our stay. We are currently awaiting a response to an email that addressed the issues.

    Minor issues included the following:

    1. Trash- no where to put it and with a call to the management we never had clear direction where to place the waste.

    2. Pool. Told it wasn't heater until the pool guy arrived on our last morning. Turns out management should have advised the pool guy that we were staying for 5 days and the solar heater would have been turned on. Dissapointing to say the least.

    3. TV/Music. Looked like a great sound system to enjoy but no directions anywhere.

    4. Minor issues with lighting and guest bath tub.

    Summary: Could be amazing rental if some of the above issues could be resolved. These are not difficult fixes and with the amount of rent that guest do pay it should be expected. The home is amazing and it deserves better attention.

    • Manager Responded on 2/2/2012

      Sorry about your disappointment. The owner did not want trash pick up service, so we had to order it for you, so we sincerely apologize. The pool is not heated not does it say it is heated anywhere. We did notify the pool guy you were arriving but he changed his email and we do not know what is it, the owner refused to get us his proper email, she refuses to keep the landscaping up either. The owner also will not let us use the media system for guests. We have decided not to manage this property anymore for many reasons. Our sincerest applogies from Prince Properties. Please contact us and we will see what we can do the make this a better experience for you. We hope you will come back to Prince Properties, perhaps just a different property.

  • What else can go wrong?

    Stayed 14 days ending in January, 2012

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    Patricia N from Crestwood, Kentucky does not recommend this vacation rental.

    Only luck and persistance got us into this home as we were given the wrong house numbers and the wrong code to get into the key lock box. When we did get in we discovered: 1. the counter still had coffee grounds scattered across it and the other counters were less than clean 2.morning showed dirty windows and mirrors 3. the stove was filthy 4.every 20 to 30minutes the fridge sounded like a pile driver was going off in it 5.the TV did not work 6.the freezer would not keep everything frozen 7.there were only one set of towels for each guest ....actually there were too many problems to cover in this format. The property mamager,Lenora, came out when we called but that had us with a house full of electricians,plumbers,cleaners[who just wiped at surfaces for awhile]. Not really how we wanted to spend our time and was not the only time I had to call.

    • Manager Responded on 1/16/2012

      We were all over it and you said you did not want us there. We comp’ed your cleaning and gave you free night stay. You said you were happy with that. We are sorry you had such a miserable experience. We did all you would allow us to do. We cleaned what was missed immediately, we fixed the refrigerator, which was really a toilet, not the refrigerator, we fixed the outlet immediately (all this work was done the first morning of the first day you were there). This house was not rented by us before only once and that was a two day stay. Nothing was reported wrong. The house was cleaned but not to your standards and yes the cleaner missed one side counter. We refunded your entire cleaning fee for this. We repeatedly asked if we could correct the next and next things you felt was wrong and you repeatedly said you did not want anyone to come out. To your apparent satisfaction (but now apparent mis-satisfaction) refunded you one night and the cleaning (about $1000) and not sure what else we could do.

  • Makalauna Experience

    Stayed 8 days ending in October, 2009

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    a guest recommends this vacation rental

    We enjoyed a lot the house and the location. The only thing that I should mention is that the garage wasn't available for use and the house home theather wasn't working(never used). But doubtless it's a very well built house, charming and we loved stayed there the week!

Getting your rate Getting your rate...
1. Select Your Dates to Check Availability

Click calendar to set checkin/checkout dates. clear calendar

 Unavailable  Selected  Available  Checkin only  Checkout only
2. Review Dates and Rates

Select/Confirm the number of travelers to get a rate quote.

: :
Base Rent:
Fees & Taxes:*
Total Price:
*Click 'Continue Booking' to view details of fees & taxes

To request information about booking this vacation rental, please fill out the form below.

Sorry, we encountered the following error(s):

  • Unable to process request.
loading Sending Email...
Your email has been sent successfully!

Sorry, we encountered the following error(s):

  • Unable to process request.
loading Sending Email...
Your email has been sent successfully!

Boundless Hawaii, LLC 75-5865 Walua Road Suite F1 Kailua Kona, Hawaii 96740 +1 (877) 782-5662 reservations@boundlesshawaii.com

© 1999 - 2016 | Powered By Escapia Vacation Rental Software | Terms of Use